Tags

, , , , , , ,


Perfectly stated for today's world!

I am a preparer (if such a word even exists).  I organize everything in a certain way before needing “it” and this is the way I’ve been throughout my adult years.  (You’d have to ask my mother about my childhood on this one.)  I believe that if I can have everything in order, the more “trouble-free” the event or project will go.  I’m the one that puts all the screws to build a new piece of furniture in separate bowls to make sure I can find them while building the grand furnishing.  I’m the one that reads through the entire recipe and then pull all the ingredients out and measure them to perfection before completing the first step of the masterful dish.  As a soccer coach, I had all my drills or game plans done the night before so I wouldn’t feel rushed or unprepared the next day.  I love being ready for whatever is coming my way!

With this being said, I do dislike one preparation that I have seen lately – Christmas before Thanksgiving.  I’ve been dealing with the commercialization of Christmas in the stores for years – as we all have seen, I’m sure.  This year Christmas decorations were out in late September with Christmas carols being played on the speakers.  I just shook my head, tuned out the music, and went on with the remainder of my shopping avoiding that section of the store.  Why does such a wonderful holiday – albeit stressful too – have to be so commercialized by the stores?  I thought about this and tried to make a positive out of a potential negative.  Maybe the stores are trying to make more money for the season that everyone is going to be strapped for cash during and I also thought it might be okay for us broke people to buy when we actually have a few bucks in our pockets. So be it.

What’s really crawling under my skin though, is the fact that I drive down my road and see Christmas lights up and already lit.  Two nights ago, I noticed that our neighbor three doors down already had baby Jesus in the manger sitting in their big glorious front yard.  Tonight, all the lights were glowing, Tigger with Pooh Bear was blown up and baby Jesus with sweet Mary and Joseph are sitting in the middle of the barn animals.  It’s not just them.  The house on the corner has their Christmas lights around their door shining bright and the house five houses up actually have their Christmas tree shining through the window with two lit pine trees on their front porch.

I can understand that we have had great weather these past few days while we experienced our Indian Summer as we do every year at this time.  I agree putting your lights up in sixty or seventy degree weather is more comfortable than completing this daunting task in thirty or forty degree windy conditions.  My only question is, why do you have to turn the lights on?  Can the pretty twinkley lights stay off until after Thanksgiving and then you can blast the neighborhood with your glow?

I guess I’m just a traditionalist.  I like to keep my holidays separate.  I think my mother instilled this in me as a child since my birthday is December 18th, exactly one week from Christmas.  She didn’t want me to be confused between my birthday and Christmas.  On December 19th, we would put the tree up and decorate the house. I like Halloween.  I like Thanksgiving.  I like Christmas.  They are all three different holidays celebrated for separate reasons.  Let’s enjoy each holiday for the thankfulness and the giving when they’re suppose to be glorified.  As for me, I’m looking forward to the turkey on Thanksgiving, the shopping on Black Friday and when I come home that Friday, then I’ll decorate the house for Christmas!

